Thika United shoot blanks in Sofapaka draw.

Thika United and Sofapaka shared the spoils, after playing out a 0-0 draw at the Thika Sub-County Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Sofapaka went close to taking the lead in the 16th minute, as Dennis Lewa poor clearance found Ali Fenill who struck the post with a quick shot.

It was Thika’s turn to squander a chance to take the lead in the 20th minute, as Shami Kibwana found Iregi with a sublime pass, however the midfielder failed to beat Kigonya from close range.

The opening stanza was played at an entertaining tempo, but neither side could create a clear-cut opening, as the scores remained level at the break.

The Batoto Ba Mungu got off to an encouraging start in the second half, and went close in the 46th minute, as Umari Kasumba forced Allan Owiny into a good save.

Thika squandered a glorious chance in the 54th minute, when Chibueze scuffed his effort from 12-yards out, after some good build-up play.

After a barren spell at the hour-mark, the hosts nearly broke the deadlock in the 79th minute but Kigonya produced a stunning save to keep out Mukangula’s effort from 20-yards out.

Nicholas Muyoti’s charges were in control in the final stages of the second half and continued to push for a winning goal, but Sofapaka’s defence stood firm and ensured both sides left with a point.

Here’s how they lined up:

Thika United XI: Allan Owiny, Anekaya Wilson, Meja Sammy, Christopher Oruchum, Ngotho Suleiman (Cpt), Tsuma Said, Lewa Denis, Shami Kibwana, Mukangula Eugene, Iregi Benson, Chibuze Onwudi.

Sub’s: Emase Eliud Edmond Adem Mwanje Samuel Mutinda micheal Odhiambo Stephen Saad Mussa and Idah Sosthenes.

Sofapaka XI: Mathias Kigonya(G). Willis Ouma. Abdulatif Achicobe Omar . Rodgers Modest Aloro. Jonathan Mugabi. Mohammed Kilume. Hillary Echesa (Cpt).Bernard Mang’oli. Umaru Kasumba. Ali Feni. Timothy Luda

Subs: Edmond Kwanya . Brian Dayo Magonya. Maurice Odipo. Kennedy Odour. Micheal Odour. Ezekiel Okare. George Opiyo.

Report by Ken_Magu.

Comments are closed.

KPL Table

1Gor Mahia981025
2Mathare United1272323
3Ulinzi Stars1254319
5Posta Rangers1246218
6AFC Leopards1153318
8Chemelil Sugar1145217
9Nzoia Sugar1251616
10KK Homeboyz1151516
11Kariobangi Sharks1135314
13Vihiga United1226412
16SoNy Sugar1124510
17Thika United121659

Twitter updates